CRANBERRY BLOOD by ELIZABETH MORGAN

Receiving ELIZABETH MORGAN is always a pleasure and an honor. Her new book CRANBERRY BLOOD features vampires and werewolves. And, oh yes, don’t we love sharp fangs and spiky furs 🙂 But first let’s see what Elizabeth has to say about creatures of the night.

Oh no, not another story about Vampires and Werewolves
By Elizabeth Morgan

Needles to say, I think the title of this post sums up how a lot of people feel when they hear an author is releasing a book with those two particular beings in.

I suppose in a lot of ways it has been done, and done, and done again, but as I mentioned in my blog post over at HC Browns, Vampires are timeless, and so are Werewolves. And no matter how big a hype can be over one particular creation of these beings, those of us who do love stories about them, will never truly tire of any story about the two.

The appeal of writing and reading about such beings is basically – or I believe it to be – the fact that they break all the rules. They are powerful, and dangerous, and sexual, and they rip the moral fibre of a human’s very existence; therefore they are exciting.

These two beings, as well as every other mythical being that has been documented in an encyclopaedia and has been written and rewritten in fiction, will never grow dull. The supernatural appeals to a lot of us, and the paranormal genre is truly limitless.

So, in saying all that, why did I decide to write a book – or rather, a series – containing these two overly used beings?

Well, when I first decided I wanted to sit down and write a book I thought it would be best for me to stick to a very good piece of writing advice; “write what you know, and what you love.”

Okay. I loved stories about vampires, werewolves, and everything supernatural. Basically, I love the paranormal genre, full stop. So, it was easy to decide that I wanted to write that type of book, but where was I supposed to begin? How should I go about writing a story about vampires and werewolves? How could I write something new when the market is full of such stories?

Well, the answer was easy; don’t try and create something new. Just create something I believe in; something I believe would be possible, and fun. Create a story I would read myself.

You might be looking at the screen, saying “seriously?”

At the time I wasn’t sure if I would be able to write a book, let alone a decent one, so it was an experiment for me. I decided to take factors of what I loved most about these beings and mix them all together to see what I could cook up.

I loved Bram Stokers Dracula. So I thought I would research Romanian vampires and somehow insert parts of them in to my book.

I love the Wolf Man. In fact, I love any movie that has actual werewolves, and I mean the ones that can basically move about like humans etc. So I decided I wanted actual werewolves instead of shifters.

I love the moors and the forest; I’ve always found them a little creepy. So, naturally I added that in to the mix.

I wanted to do a story set in England. So, most of the characters are from England, Scotland, or Ireland, and the first two books are set in Scotland and London.

I wanted a slayer, an old school type. I wanted my heroine to be tough, but troubled, dare I say, I wanted to give her a screwed up type of situation. I added all that in.

So, as you can imagine, I kept adding and adding until I started to get enough ideas to start writing. I will hold my hands up; the first version of Cranberry Blood, which I wrote back in 2009 wasn’t great. In a lot of ways it was too pressured and didn’t flow fantastically, but it was the first book I had wrote. So, I pat myself on the back for getting through it, got myself some beta readers, and sent it to them.

After their helpful feedback, I mentally shredded that story, and began creating a new one from the pieces I liked. Summer 2010 I finished this version of Cranberry Blood, and I have to say, I’m happy with it.

Now, I’m not going to shoot myself in the foot and say that this book is “unlike anything you have read before,” because I honestly don’t know. I love reading, but even I haven’t read every vampire/werewolf book going. This series is just another take on the paranormal; another take on these two particular – and popular – species.

What I will say is, if you decide to read this book – or follow the series – I hope you enjoy it. To me the series is dark, and bloody. It is full of sarcasm, irony, and tension. It’s frustrating and yet mysterious, but more than anything it is funny – or at least, I’m hoping it is.

My hope is that even if the phrase, “oh no, not another story about vampires and werewolves,” does spring to mind when you glance at this book/series, if you do take a chance and decide to read it, well, hopefully once you’re finished that sentences will have vanished from your mind.

 

Thank you so much to Chris for hosting me today, and thank you to everyone who has stopped by and taken the time to read this post.

~ * ~

Cranberry Blood Blurb:

Killing Vampires? Easy. Tracking someone? Simple. Helping, and protecting a Vampire slayer… Bloody hard work!

Thirteen years ago, Brendan Daniels made a deal with a psychic. In exchange for information on the whereabouts of a Rogue Werewolf, he promised to help and protect Sofia’s granddaughter. Unfortunately, he had no idea what he was getting himself, or his Pack, into.

Nothing about Heather is simple, from her weird dietary needs to her life’s mission. The girl can handle herself, but the promise to protect her soon becomes a need, and one that he can’t fully understand.

Vampire Slayer. Born Infected. Blood addict… but not by choice.

Heather Ryan is the most recent slayer in a long family line. Like all before her, she has spent her life searching for her ancestor, Marko Pavel, the Vampire her family has sworn to kill. If that isn’t complicated enough, Heather is also a born “Infected”, and to keep her from becoming insane or giving in to her darker side, she is on a very strict diet.

Grandmother Sofia has passed, so now it is up to Heather to take the family legacy into her own hands, all alone: or at least, it would have been, if her Grandmother hadn’t sent a Werewolf to help her.

What is the irritating Brendan supposed to help Heather with? Sofia never told either one of them. But it doesn’t take long for Heather and Brendan to find out that the Vampires have big plans, and that the fiends have waited a long time for them both.

CRANBERRY BLOOD can be found here: https://www.nobleromance.com/

 

~ * ~

Elizabeth Online:

Blog: www.xxxxmyworldxxxx.blogspot.com
Joint Blog: www.notjustastiffupperlip.blogspot.co.uk
Facebook: Elizabeth Morgan
The Blood Series Facebook Page: www.facebook.com/TheBloodSeries
Twitter: @EMorgan2010
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/ElizabethMorgan
Amazon Page:
http://www.amazon.com/Elizabeth-Morgan/e/B006WR1WLQ/ref=sr_tc_2_rm?qid=1339876094&sr=1-2-ent

 

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

